The John A. Timm Award

Current Timm Award Committee Chair:

Timm Award Tabs

The John Arrend Timm award was created in 1972 to memorialize this outstanding teacher and textbook author from Simmons College. The award is not necessarily given every year.

This award is given to recognize an individual who has been instrumental in the furtherance of the study of chemistry. The recipient should be a person who has made exceptional contributions to the education of young people in chemistry.

Achievements worthy of recognition might be:

  1. effective motivation of students to continue their study of Chemistry
  2. development of new and effective instructional techniques
  3. assistance of the work of chemistry teachers in general
  4. promotion of public recognition of the importance of Chemistry
  5. others in a similar vein.

Please fill out the form below to suggest a nominee for the John A. Timm Award. Preference is given to NEACT members, but all nominees will be given thorough consideration. The deadline for all nominations is March 1st of each calendar year.

Please enter a detailed explanation as to why you think s/he should get this award.

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Fill in the blank
Name Professional Affiliation Year of Awardsort icon
James L. Fasching University of Rhode Island 1989
Robert C. Plumb Worcester Polytechnic Institute 1988
Dana W. Mayo and Ronald M. Pike, jointly Bowdoin College and Merrimack College, respectively 1987
Jerry A. Bell Simmons College, Boston, MA 1986
Alexander R. Amell University of New Hampshire 1985
Robert F. O’Malley Boston College 1984
Rev. Michael H. Custer OSB St. Anselm College, Manchester, NH 1983
Robert D. Eddy Tufts University 1982
Wallace J. Gleekman Brookline, MA High School 1981
Rose M. Paternostro Newington High School, CT 1980
Donald C. Gregg University of Vermont 1978
Benjamin A. Peterson East Providence High School, RI 1977
Marco H. Scheer Nashua High School, NH 1976
Leallyn B. Clapp Brown University 1974
John A. Timm (Posthumously) Simmons College 1972