Award Description

The John Arrend Timm award was created in 1972 to memorialize this outstanding teacher and textbook author from Simmons College. The award is not necessarily given every year.

This award is given to recognize an individual who has been instrumental in the furtherance of the study of chemistry. The recipient should be a person who has made exceptional contributions to the education of young people in chemistry.

Achievements worthy of recognition might be:

  1. effective motivation of students to continue their study of Chemistry
  2. development of new and effective instructional techniques
  3. assistance of the work of chemistry teachers in general
  4. promotion of public recognition of the importance of Chemistry
  5. others in a similar vein.

Past Recipients

Name Professional Affiliation Year of Award
Meledath GovindanFitchburg State University2023
Bassam Shakhashiri University of Wisconsin 2021
Rein Kirss Northeastern University 2019
Mark Turnbull Clark University 2016
Ruth Tanner University of Massachusetts Lowell 2012
William Tobey Dills University of Massachusetts Dartmouth 2010
Stephen J. Stepenuck Keene State College, NH 2008
David J. Olney Lexington High School, MA 2006
Richard Stein University of Massachusetts Amherst 2005
James and Elaine Magyar Rhode Island College 2003
Morton Hoffman Boston University 2002
Mary Virginia Orna College of New Rochelle 2001
Babu George Sacred Heart University 2000
Bette BridgesBridgewater-Raynham High School, MA 1998
Judith Kelley University of Massachusetts Lowell 1997
David Harpp McGill University, Quebec, Canada 1996
Irwin Talesnick Queen's College, Ontario, Canada 1995
William (Flick) Coleman Wellesley College 1993
Mary C. Christian Exeter-West Greenwich High School, RI 1992
Madeline P. Goodstein Central Connecticut State College 1991
Barbara B. Lewis Champlain Valley Union HS and University of Vermont 1990
James L. Fasching University of Rhode Island 1989
Robert C. Plumb Worcester Polytechnic Institute 1988
Dana W. Mayo and Ronald M. Pike, jointly Bowdoin College and Merrimack College, respectively 1987
Jerry A. Bell Simmons College 1986
Alexander R. Amell University of New Hampshire 1985
Robert F. O’Malley Boston College 1984
Rev. Michael H. Custer OSB St. Anselm College 1983
Robert D. Eddy Tufts University 1982
Wallace J. Gleekman Brookline High School, MA 1981
Rose M. Paternostro Newington High School, CT 1980
Donald C. Gregg University of Vermont 1978
Benjamin A. Peterson East Providence High School, RI 1977
Marco H. Scheer Nashua High School, NH 1976
Leallyn B. Clapp Brown University 1974
John A. Timm (Posthumously) Simmons College 1972

© New England Association of Chemistry Teachers. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software